TCC Winter 2011 Champions – ECC

ECC won the TCC Winter 2011 Taped Ball Cricket T20 Tournament. ECC beat Rattlers by 48 runs. ECC won the deserving championship in the well fought out tournament that had 16 participant teams.
On a beautiful day for cricket, ECC won the toss and elected to bat first. They lost their first wicket in the first over of Mahesh. Gautam, the ECC captain scored 20 runs in quick time before he got out to Aditya. Sandip and Pankaj batted carefully not to lose any more wickets. At the end of 10th over, the score was 55 for 2. After the break, Sandip and Pankaj opened up and scored 53 runs in the next 5 overs. The shots included square drives, straight drives and some huge hits on the onside. Pankaj got out for a quick fire 19. Sandip continued the aggressive play with Vasu. They ran hard and smashed 4 sixes to score 50 runs in the last 4 overs. Sandip ended up with a match winning score of 75 and Vasu scored 24 runs. It was brilliant, smart and explosive batting by ECC in the last 10 overs due to which they scored 105 runs. The target was 162 in 20 overs for Rattlers which required some chasing. For Rattlers, Mahesh, Adyta, Senthil and Sagar took a wicket each. They were not able to contain the run flow for ECC.
Rattlers got off to quiet start with a maiden first over bowled by Bharat. They lost two quick wickets in 4th (Vinod, 11 runs) and 5th over (Aditya). Ashwin and Ram rebuilt the innings. Ashwin got out in the 7th over after a well compiled 22 runs. At the end of 10 overs, the score was 58 for 4. The match was evenly poised and required big scoring by Rattlers in the next 10 overs to win the match. Manik and Ram started aggressively after the break and scored 30 runs in 4 overs. Manik(23) and Ram(16) got run out in quick succession. After that it was difficult for the rest of the Rattler’s team to score against the steeply growing required run rate. Rattlers were all out in for 112 runs in 17 overs with only Sarang (11) managing to cross double digits in the lower order. For ECC, Kumar took 3 wickets, Praveen took 2 wickets. Avinash and Venkat took a wicket each. The game had high quality great umpiring from two neutral umpires Natraj and Srinivas.
The game was followed by a well organized prize distribution ceremony arranged by TCC. The presentation party had members of TCC EC (Krishna and Srinivas) and chief guest was Mr. Nanda Kumar president of TCC and HCL. Mr. Nanda Kumar was honored with a memento by TCC. Jagadish Biradar, organizer for TCC Taped Ball tournament coordinated the presentation ceremony.
Gautam Singh, the captain of ECC was presented with the championship trophy and Senthil, the captain of Rattlers was presented with the runners up trophy. The players of the winners and runners up received individual trophies. Man of the match for the finals was Sandip from ECC.
Arun from Houston Arrows won the Best Batsman trophy with 223 runs. Rajesh from Cougars won the Best Bowler trophy with 16 wickets. Srinivas from Panthers won the Best All Rounder trophy with 164 runs and 10 wickets. Trophies were also given to the man of the match for Semi Finals and Quarter Finals. Senthil from Rattlers and Bharat from ECC were the recipients of the man of the match for Semi Finals. Ashwin from Cougars, Trilok from RCC, Pankaj from ECC and Vinod from Rattlers were the recipients of the man of the match for Quarter Finals.

Comments are closed.